The Professor’s Pop Quiz

This month's question:

In a stroke play competition, the following Local Rule is in effect: “Dropping Zone: If a ball is in or it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in the water hazard on Hole # 6, the player may proceed under Rule 26-1; or as an additional option, drop a ball, under penalty of one stroke, in the dropping zone.” While playing the 7th hole, a player’s tee shot comes to rest in the water hazard on the 6th hole. He determines the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard, then proceeds to the Dropping Zone, which is located about 50 yards closer to the hole than this point and drops a ball. He then plays it to the 7th putting green and holes out in two putts. In the Score Card Collection Area, he informs the Committee of what occurred while playing the 7th hole. The Committee should rule that the player:

 

A)  proceeded correctly.


B)  should be penalized two strokes for playing from a wrong place.


C)  should return to the 7th hole, taking a drop as prescribed in Rule 26-1 and complete the hole. 


D)  should be disqualified for a serious breach of Rule 20-7.

 

Answers will be available on the 1st of every month

PREVIOUS QUESTIONS