rolex logo

105th Met Open Heads to Mountain Ridge

105th Met Open Flag

ELMSFORD, N.Y. (August 13, 2020) – The Met Open Championship Presented by Callaway and Mountain Ridge Country Club in West Caldwell, N.J., reunite August 18-20 for the storied event’s 105th playing as 133 of the Met Area’s top professionals and amateurs set their sights on claiming the Walker L. Trammell Trophy.

Related: Pairings | History | Records | Videos

Since last hosting the Met Open in 2000, the classic Donald Ross layout has gone through extensive changes, highlighted by tree removal and restoration work led by architect Ron Pritchard. Perhaps most notably, Ross’ outstanding green complexes were recaptured—enlarging the square footage of the putting surfaces, bringing more run-off areas in to play and creating challenging hole locations. All of this will surely test the region’s top players throughout the 54-hole championship.

Mountain Ridge has a stellar record of producing outstanding champions, with Tom Neiporte (1966), George Zahringer (1985) and Mike Gilmore (2000) previously etching their name in the MGA record books in the three Met Opens hosted by the club.

Field Breakdown
The field contains 133 competitors, with 92 professionals and 41 amateurs.

Past Champions
A total of 18 past champions are in the field at Mountain Ridge, including winners from 8 of the last 10 playings:
Matt Dobyns, Meadow Brook (2019)
Andrew Svoboda, Engineers (2018, 2003)
Mark Brown, Tam O’Shanter (2016, 2013, 1999)
Ben Polland, Deepdale (2015)
Grant Sturgeon, Arcola (2014)
Tyler Hall, Upper Montclair (2011)
Bob Rittberger, Garden City GC (2010)
Frank Bensel, Century (2007)
John Guyton, Rockville Links (2006)
John Stoltz, Black Oak (2005)
Mike Gilmore, Winged Foot (2000)
Mike Burke, Montammy (1997)
Darrell Kestner, Deepdale (1995, 1983, 1982)
Mike Diffley, Pelham (1991)
Bobby Heins, Old Oaks (1989, 1988)
Jim McGovern, White Beeches (1987)
George Zahringer, Deepdale (1985)
Bill Britton, Trump National - Colts Neck (1979)

Successful Defense?
Matt Dobyns of Meadow Brook secured his first Met Open victory at Piping Rock last year and will aim to become the first back-to-back winner since Johnson Wagner in 2001-02.

Back for More
Eight players that finished inside the top-10 in 2019 at Piping Rock are back in the field aiming for another top finish and a run at the title: Michael Graboyes of Watchung Valley, Ben Polland of Deepdale, Andrew Gai of Long Shore, Andrew Svoboda of Engineers, Mike Ballo, Jr., of Westchester, and Paul Pastore of Fairview.

2020 Met Area Champions in the Field
Frank Bensel, Century – Met PGA Senior Professional
Mark Costanza, Hamilton Farm – Ike, New Jersey Open
Austin Devereux, Manasquan River – New Jersey Amateur
Pat Fillian, Echo Lake – NJPGA Head Professional Championship
Tyler Hall, Upper Montclair – Lincoln Charity Clambake
Jimmy Nevius, Shackamaxon – NJPGA Assistant Championship
Luke Sample, Old Oaks – Met Junior
Brad Tilley, Sleepy Hollow – Westchester Amateur

Former MGA Player of the Year Winners in the Field
Chris Gotterup, Rumson – 2019
Darin Goldstein, Deepdale – 2018
Max Buckley, Westchester – 2013
George Zahringer, Deepdale – 10-time, most recently 2007
Andrew Svoboda, Engineers – 2003

The MGA and Mountain Ridge
Mountain Ridge stands among a couple of distinct lists when it comes to hosting MGA championships. The club, which first hosted the MGA Senior Amateur in 1957, is one of 18 clubs to have hosted the MGA’s trio of majors—the Ike, Met Amateur and Met Open. It is also one of five clubs to have hosted a record 8 different MGA events.

Met Open Money
Continued support from MGA partners including championship partner Callaway Golf has allowed the Met Open’s total purse to remain strong, once again standing at $150,000 for its 105th playing. Of those in the field, three-time champion Mark brown has earned the most at the championship since 2003.

Mark Brown, Tam O'Shanter $81,748
Frank Bensel, Century $78,242
Tyler Hall, Upper Montclair $68,733
Matt Dobyns, Meadow Brook $59,485
Andrew Svoboda, Engineers $55,830
Ben Polland, Deepdale $51,334

Tyler Hall and Mike Ballo, Jr., have registered a field-best four top-10 finishes since 2010. Meanwhile, Frank Bensel, Ben Polland and John Stoltz have all had a trio of top-10 finishes.

Making the Cut
John Guyton owns the longest active streak of playing and making the cut at the Met Open, having done so every year since 2010.

Winners on Tour
The field contains a number of players who have logged wins on the PGA TOUR or on one of its affiliated Tours. Those include Bill Britton of Trump - Colts Neck, Kevin Foley of Raritan Valley, Jason Gore of Hamilton Farm, Jim McGovern of White Beeches, Ben Polland of Deepdale.

Player of the Year Implications
With a pair of impressive wins this summer, including a dramatic eagle chip-in to win the Ike, Mark Costanza of Hamilton Farm (735 points) currently owns the top spot on the MGA Player of the Year listing. The three days at Mountain Ridge will have huge implications as the season begins to wind down, with No. 2 Brad Tilley of Sleepy Hollow (480 points) and Ethan Ng of Knickerbocker (465 points) also in the field. Overall, six of those currently in the top-10 are in the field.


  • Three days, 54 holes of stroke play
  • Field cut to low 54 scores & ties after 36 holes


  • Live hole-by-hole scoring throughout the championship
  • Social media: @MGA1897 on Twitter for updates throughout the day; additional content on Facebook and Instagram
  • Scoring, recaps, photos and videos on
News Type: