rolex logo

Inside the Rules

Every two weeks MGA Senior Director of Rules and Competitions Gene Westmoreland will answer one question posed by the readers of the MGA e-Revision Newsletter (click here to sign up). Jim from Westchester County, N.Y., asked Gene the following Rules question:



“A golfer hits a shot and it comes to rest right in the middle of an out of bounds line or marking. Is the golf ball in play or out of bounds?”


Gene responds:


Hello, Jim: If any part of the ball is “in bounds,” the ball is in bounds. So if you stretched a string from the inside edge of two out of bounds stakes (at ground level) and the string split the middle of the ball the ball would be “in.”




Read Gene’s latest “Inside the Rules” column

News Type: