rolex logo

Pike Elected President; Mottola, Goldstein Honored

Tod Pike, Jay Mottola and Darin Goldstein photos from the MGA's Annual Meeting

HARRISON, N.Y. (December 5, 2018) – The Metropolitan Golf Association celebrated a successful 2018 on Wednesday, as more than 250 club representatives, Committee members, champions, volunteers, members of the press and representatives from local and national golf organizations attended the Association’s 121st Annual Meeting and Dinner at Westchester Country Club.

Related: Mottola DSA Video | Photos

Both the meeting portion of the evening and the closing dinner provided highlight moments, including Tod D. Pike’s election as President and former MGA executive Director Jay Mottola’s recognition as the 2018 MGA Distinguished Service Award recipient.

Videos: MGA Foundation | PGA Championship

Annual Meeting

  • Tod D. Pike, Apawamis, was elected to serve a one-year term as the 64th President of the MGA and will lead the 22-member Executive Committee. He also becomes Chairman of the MGA Foundation. Pike joined the Executive Committee in 2007 and began serving as an officer in 2013.
  • Andrew G. Stock, Baltusrol (Vice President), Patrick L. Donnelly, Garden City CC (Treasurer), and Ned Zachar of GlenArbor (Secretary) were also elected as officers.
  • Joseph Saladino, Huntington CC and Steve Shunk, Canoe Brook were newly elected to the 22-member Executive Committee, which also welcomed two new special members in WMGA President Lori Ann Cerullo and LIGA President George Gatta.
  • Gene Bernstein, Sebonack; Joe Bardon, Canoe Brook; Darin Goldstein, Noyac; Thomas Joyce, Darien; and Damon Wright, Winged Foot, were approved to join the Foundation Board of Directors.
  • Director, 2019 PGA Championship Scott Reid shared a video highlighting major championship golf’s return to Bethpage State Park’s Black Course in May.
  • Jack Wall, Brielle, N.J., recognized as winner of the 2018 MGA Junior Player of Year Award, Presented by Callaway.
  • Rob Bluestone recognized as the recipient of the 2018 JMA—the Jerry Mahoney Award, which recognizes the Rules & Competitions Committee Volunteer of the Year.
  • New business was brought forward, recognizing that the MGA Executive Committee and Foundation Board of Directors had come to an agreement with the Westchester Golf Association’s Executive Committee and their member clubs that will legally merge the two associations. A motion was made to merge the WGA with the MGA and the motion was passed.


  • Darin Goldstein, Deepdale was honored as winner of the 2018 MGA Jerry Courville Sr. Player of the Year Award. Ten-time MGA Player of the Year and fellow Deepdale member George Zahringer introduced Goldstien.
  • Former MGA Executive Director Jay Mottola was recognized with the MGA’s highest honor, its Distinguished Service Award. Lifelong friend and former USGA Executive Director David B. Fay introduced Mottola following a video on Mottola’s career serving the game of golf in the Met Area and beyond.


News Type: