2017 MGA Rules Quiz

1. In a match, Player A hits his drive on the 1st hole which is a long dog-leg. Player B, who has never played the course, asks A, "Where should I aim?" A responds, "Hit your drive at the big oak tree in the distance." B then hits his drive at the big oak tree. A takes four strokes to complete the hole and B takes five strokes. The result of the hole is:

A) A wins the hole.

B) The hole is halved.

C) B wins the hole.

D) Both players are disqualified.

 

 

2. A Committee member was assigned the role of starter in a single match play event. After Player A properly put a ball in play from the teeing ground, the starter notices the opponent, Player B, tees the ball slightly in front of the tee markers to avoid taking a stance on a portion of slippery soil just outside the teeing ground. A doesn’t notice this potential violation. The starter should:

A) Inform Player B that he is ahead of the tee markers.

B) Inform both players before Player B puts the ball in play.

C) Inform both players after Player B puts the ball in play.

D) Inform neither player and let the violation occur.

 

 

3. A competitor is about to tee off. As he begins his downswing, the ball is deflected off the tee by a wayward shot from an adjacent fairway. The competitor completes his swing. What is the ruling?

A) The stroke doesn’t count and the ball should be replaced.

B) The stroke doesn’t count and the ball should be played as it lies.

C) The stroke counts and the ball should be replaced.

D) The stroke counts and the ball should be played as it lies.

 

 

4. In stroke play, Player A hits his tee shot, finds a ball he assumes to be his and plays that ball which ends up slightly closer to the hole than Player B’s second shot. As B is preparing to play his third shot, A asks him what club he used to play his second shot. A then realizes he has played a wrong ball. A returns to the area from which he played the wrong ball, finds his original ball after a one minute search, and plays the original ball into the hole in four more strokes. A’s score for the hole is: 

A) 6

B) 7

C) 8

D) 9

 

 

5. A and B are partners in a four-ball stroke play competition. A's ball comes to rest in casual water. A's caddie picks up the ball, hands it to B who places it 3 club-lengths behind the casual water at a spot that keeps the point where the ball lay between the spot where it is placed and the hole. A plays the ball. A incurs:

A) 1 penalty stroke.

B) 2 penalty strokes.

C) 3 penalty strokes.

D) 4 penalty strokes.

 

6. In a stroke play event, Player A’s approach shot comes to rest on the putting green leaving him with a long 75-foot putt. Player B’s approach shot lands in a greenside bunker. A marks and lifts his ball, then reads his line of putt. B’s bunker shot comes to rest on the putting green, but he still has a 30-foot putt remaining. A reads his line of putt from the other side of the hole while B is cleaning up the bunker. Just as B finishes, A replaces his ball. A putts his ball and it apparently comes to rest, but is overhanging the hole. B, not paying attention, immediately walks up to his ball and putts it. B’s ball not only strikes A’s ball, deflecting it into the hole, but B’s ball follows it in as well. Unsure of how to proceed, the competitors agree that since both balls are holed, there is no issue and they proceed to tee off the next hole and complete the stipulated round. They inform the Committee of this situation prior to signing and returning their score cards. The Committee should rule:

A) Both players’ balls are considered holed and there is no penalty.

B) Player A’s ball is considered holed. Player B’s ball is considered holed and he is assessed a two-stroke penalty.

C) Player A is disqualified and Player B’s ball is considered holed and he is assessed a two-stroke penalty.

D) Both players should have replaced their balls and replayed their last strokes. As both players failed to hole out, they are both disqualified.

 

 

7. In a single match, A and B are using the same make driver and sharing a caddie. A is 1 up after 2 holes. On the 3rd tee, the caddie mistakenly hands B’s driver to A, which she uses to tee off. When B is given A’s driver, she notices the mistake and uses her own driver to play her tee shot. A and B are uncertain of the penalty and agree to get a ruling later. However, A thinks that perhaps she can correct her mistake by canceling the stroke played with the wrong driver and replaying her tee shot using her own driver. B objects and states she is adding this to the claim, so A decides to complete the hole with both balls. B finishes the hole in 5 strokes. Without including any possible penalty strokes, A scores a 4 with her first ball and a 5 with the second ball. When they get a ruling, they are informed that after the completion of the third hole:

A) A is 2 up.

B) A remains 1 up.

C) The match is all square.

D) B is 1 up.

 

8. In a stroke play event, a player's second shot lands in green side rough, and rolls into the adjacent lateral water hazard. The player correctly locates the spot where his ball crossed into the hazard and then identifies the area within two club-lengths for dropping the ball, a portion of which extends onto the putting green. He intentionally drops a ball on the steep part of that area of the putting green, hoping to preview the break of his subsequent putt. The dropped ball rolls down the putting green more than two club-lengths, just missing the hole. He re-drops the ball very near where he dropped it the first time but adjusting for the break he observed with the first drop. The ball again rolls toward the hole, and this time it rolls into the hole. He then properly places the ball and it stays at rest where the re-dropped ball first struck the putting green. While the player is walking away to retrieve his putter, the ball begins to move and rolls into the hole. He retrieved his ball and teed off on the next hole. Including all any penalty strokes, the result of the hole is:

A) 3

B) 4

C) 5

D) He is disqualified.

 

9. In a match play event, a par-3 hole has its teeing ground located immediately behind a water hazard with an island putting green. A player’s tee shot lands on the greenside of the water hazard, rolls backwards, and is lost in the water hazard. He drops correctly under the water hazard rule, keeping the point at which the ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard between the hole and the place where he dropped a ball. In so doing he dropped the ball on the teeing ground. Realizing he could have re-teed his ball under the stroke and distance provision of the Rule, he lifts and tees his ball. He plays the teed ball onto the putting green. His first putt strikes his opponents ball lying on the putting green. He then completes the hole in one additional stroke. What is his score for the hole?

A) 5

B) 6

C) 7

D) Loss of hole penalty.

 

10. The Committee's procedure for returning score cards is to have players drop them into a sealed collection box near the final putting green. While waiting to play on the tee of the last hole, Player A asks his marker, Player B, to sign A's score card on the tee so he does not forget to do so at the end of the round. B does so and then A also signs it, putting his score card back in his pocket. After completion of the hole, A verbally confirms his score with B, completes the score card himself without showing B, and deposits it in the collection box. After both players have returned their score cards but before the competition is closed, the incident is brought to the attention of the Committee. The players agree with the facts reported to the Committee but were unaware they had violated any Rule. How should the Committee rule?

A) Player A is disqualified.

B) Player A and B are both disqualified.

C) Player A is penalized 4 strokes.

D) There is no penalty.

 

11. On the fourth hole of a three-ball match among A, B and C, A’s ball is on the putting green, lying 2, B’s ball, also on the putting green, is lying 3 and C’s ball is in a greenside bunker, lying 2. C is preparing to play his next stroke, but because A’s golf bag is lying on an extension of C’s line of play, he asks B to move it. B has lifted the bag and is moving it when C plays his shot. C’s ball strikes A’s golf bag, finally coming to rest in a bush. C states that because his ball has hit A’s golf bag and ended up in an unplayable lie, he will recall his stroke and replay it from the bunker, which he smoothes before replacing the ball, C plays his ball onto the green and holes out in one putt. A and B each hole out in two putts. Assuming that all necessary claims are made in a timely fashion, the result of the fourth hole includes the following:

A) A and C halve the hole; B and C halve the hole.

B) A and C halve the hole; B wins the hole from C.

C) A wins the hole from C; B and C halve the hole.

D) A wins the hole from C; B wins the hole from C.

 

12. A player’s second shot comes to rest in the rough under low hanging branches of a tree. He fairly takes his stance, grounds his club behind the ball and begins his backswing, causing the ball to move downward. His club becomes entangled in a branch that impedes his backswing. Visibly frustrated, he forcefully continues his backswing, breaking the branch in the process. He then makes his stroke, breaking several additional branches and completely missing his ball but significantly improving the area of his next intended swing. He then comments to a fellow–competitor, “I knew I would probably miss the ball but at least I made my next shot easier." His next shot is indeed free from interference by the tree and reaches the putting green. He then holes out in two additional strokes. His score for the hole is:

A) 6

B) 7

C) 8

D) 9

 

13. The new Local Rule dealing with Rule 18-2 is in effect for a competition. A competitor is preparing to make a stroke at his ball on the putting green. His ball moves and he steps away telling his marker and fellow-competitor that his ball moved. The marker asks whether he did anything to cause the ball to move and he answers he did not. The marker tells him there is no penalty and he should play the ball from where it now rests, which he does, holing out in two more putts. After the round is complete and prior to signing their score cards, the competitors ask the Committee to review the situation. The Committee concludes after viewing the video evidence that it is more likely than not that the competitor caused the ball to move. The Committee should inform the competitor:

A) He has incurred no penalty.

B) He has incurred a one-stroke penalty.

C) He has incurred a two-stroke penalty.

D) He is disqualified.

 

14. On a sunny day, a competitor, who forgot to bring a hat, borrows one from a fellow-competitor. The weather turns cloudy and on the par-3 16th putting green, the competitor removes the hat and leaves it next to the fellow-competitor’s golf bag which is near the putting green in deep rough. The competitor sculls his second shot and his ball strikes the golf hat and ends up on its brim. Seeking to avoid the deep rough, the competitor plays the ball from the brim onto the putting green and then holes the following putt. His score for the 16th hole is:

A) 4

B) 5

C) 6

D) 7

 

15. A competitor’s tee shot on the 8th hole comes to rest in an area that he feels should have been marked as ground under repair. Because he likes his lie, he decides to play the ball as it lies. He chunks the shot, and it ends up a few feet away in a horrible lie. From his new position, he can see that the whole area had already been marked as ground under repair but part of the marking had been obliterated. He picks up his ball to take relief under Rule 25, plays his next shot to the putting green, holes the ball with two putts and plays from the next tee. After he returns his score card, which reflects a score of 5 for the 8th hole, but before the competition has closed, his actions are brought to the attention of the Committee. The competitor agrees to the facts but denies knowledge of any possible Rules infraction. The Committee should rule:

A) Per Decisions 18-2/8 and 18-2/8.5, he must play the ball as it lies. He incurs a two-stroke penalty under Rule 18 and an additional two-stroke penalty under Rule 6-6d Exception.

B) If he dropped the ball at the nearest point of relief from the new position, there is no penalty, he lies 2 and his score for the hole stands as reported.

C) If he dropped the ball at the nearest point of relief from his first lie in the ground under repair, there is no penalty but he lies 2 and his score for the hole stands as reported.

D) He is disqualified because he committed a serious breach of playing from a wrong place.

 

16. A and B are partners in a four-ball stroke play competition. B marks A’s ball which lies two on the putting green and sets it aside without A’s knowledge. A arrives at the putting green and marks his ball, lifts it, cleans it and replaces it. He then putts the ball. B stops A’s ball, tosses it back to him and points out where he had marked A’s ball. A places his ball at the mark and holes out in two strokes. What is A’s score for the hole?

A) A is disqualified from the hole.

B) A scores 7 for the hole.

C) A scores 9 for the hole.

D) A scores 11 for the hole.

 

17. A player plays his shot and the ball bounces high in the air off a cart path towards the clubhouse. Unsure of whether the clubhouse is in bounds or not, he announces and plays a provisional ball which lands on the putting green, near the hole. When he goes to look for his original ball, an official tells him that the ball landed on the roof of the clubhouse, the clubhouse is in bounds and is considered an obstruction. He shows the player the spot where the ball last crossed the outermost limits of the obstruction and informs the player he is entitled to drop with no penalty taking relief under the obstruction Rule with his ball deemed to lie at the spot. The player, not liking where the drop would be, decides to play his provisional ball into the hole. What is the ruling?

A) The player is disqualified unless he drops near the obstruction.

B) The player is penalized 2 strokes and may tee off on the next hole.

C) The player has a total penalty of 3 penalty strokes.

D) The player has proceeded properly incurring only the penalty stroke under 27-1.

 

18. A competitor’s drive on the 12th hole lies 150 yards from the putting green in an area that has been recently damaged by a golf cart but is not marked as ground under repair. He invokes Rule 3-3 and correctly drops a second ball, announcing his intention to score with the second ball if the Committee subsequently determines that he was entitled to free relief. He strikes the second ball onto the putting green. He then plays the original ball but is able to advance it only 50 yards. Since he has been having trouble with his chipping, and confident that the Committee will subsequently rule that the second ball he played will count toward his score, he plays four approximately 25 yard chip shots with the original ball onto the putting green. He two putts with each ball. He reports the facts to the Committee when he returns his score card. The Committee subsequently rules he was entitled to free relief and the score with the second ball counts. What is his score for the hole?

A) 4

B) 6

C) 7

D) 8

 

19. A player's tee shot comes to rest in a soggy area marked as ground under repair. A fellow-competitor uses his ball retriever to remove the ball and tosses the ball towards the player. It comes to rest in the area in which the player should drop in taking relief from the ground under repair. The player makes a stroke which lands on the putting green and two putts. He tees off on the next hole where an official is found and the actions are described to the official. The player should be told he:

A) has scored 5 on the hole.

B) has scored 6 on the hole.

C) has scored 7 on the hole.

D) is disqualified.

 

20. In a match play event, a player’s opponent has holed out in 3 strokes and his ball remains in the hole. The player is left with a short putt for a 2 to win the hole. He makes a stroke at his ball and it enters the hole striking his opponent’s ball and immediately pops out of the hole. The player removes the opponent’s ball from the hole, asserting that his opponent’s ball was no longer in play and the player is therefore entitled to cancel his stroke. The player lifts his own ball and replaces it at the spot of his last stroke, and holes the ball with his next putt. The opponent makes a timely claim. What is the player’s score for the hole?

A) 2

B) 3

C) 4

D) 5

 

21. A competitor’s tee shot lies in a puddle of water on a bridge crossing a water hazard. He lifts the ball, cleans it, and then determines his nearest point of relief from the casual water under the bridge in the water hazard and drops the ball. He plays his next shot onto the putting green, two putts, and plays from the next tee. His score for the hole is:

A) 4

B) 5

C) 6

D) 7

 

22. In the first round of a three-round singles match play competition, two opponents privately agree that Player A will tee off first on each of the first nine holes, and Player B will tee off first on the remaining holes. On the second tee, Players C and D, grouped with A and B and involved in a separate match in the same tournament, notice that Player A just teed off out of turn. Player A and B explain their agreement, and Player C suggests that this is a violation. A and B are concerned about this possibility but decide to ignore C’s objection. Immediately after the round, C complains to the Committee. What is the ruling?

A) The result of the match between Player A and B stands since there is no penalty in the Rules for violating the order of play in a match (other than the option for an opponent to immediately require the offending player to replay his stroke).

B) The result of the match between Player A and B stands since neither was certain that their agreement was illegal.

C) Players A and B are disqualified from the tournament.

D) Player A is disqualified and Player B wins the match.

 

23. A competitor’s tee shot ends up two feet above the hole on a severely sloped putting green. He misses the putt and it rolls 50 feet past the hole and comes to rest on the flat part of the putting green. Believing his chances of sinking the putt from where it originally came to rest are greater than two-putting from where his ball now lies, the competitor places a second ball where his tee shot originally came to rest with the intention of proceeding under stroke and distance. A fellow-competitor then questions his procedure and says he is required to play the original ball which still lies on the flat part of the putting green 50 feet below the hole. He picks up the second ball and it takes him three additional putts to hole the original ball. Because the competitor still has some doubt in his mind, he replaces the second ball on the spot on which his tee shot originally came to rest and holes the second ball in one additional stroke. His score for the hole is:

A) 5

B) 6

C) 7

D) 8

 

24. During an individual stroke play event with the one ball condition in effect, Player A loses his second shot in a water hazard. He borrows a ball from Player B, inadvertently putting a different model ball (improper ball) into play properly under R26 and plays it into the fairway. Player C then points out the violation. Attempting to correct the error, A then goes back and drops a proper ball at the spot from which he had put the improper ball into play. He hits the proper ball into the rough near the improper ball. B suggests that under the one ball condition, A could have replaced the improper ball with a proper ball. A then lifts both the proper ball from the rough and the improper ball from the fairway. He places the proper ball at the spot the improper ball had previously come to rest in the fairway. He hits the proper ball onto the putting green and one-putts. A’s score for the hole is:

A) 8

B) 10

C) 11

D) 12

 

25. On the third hole of a one-day stroke play competition, competitor A realizes he needs to stretch. He attaches rubber bands to his cart and stretches before he hits his second shot to the putting green of the par 4. The putting green is about 25 yards above the fairway. The local rules sheet allows distance-measuring devices. A finds his ball over the putting green lying out of bounds. He tries to understand why the ball went over the putting green by checking his slope function, which has been turned off until now. A believes he can use that function after making a stroke because there’s a Decision allowing players to ask, “What club did you hit?” after they make a stroke. A returns to his previous position and plays under Rule 27-1. He ball comes to rest on the putting green.  He then places his water bottle on the sharply-sloping putting green near his line of putt but not on it. He looks at the fluid then makes the putt. What was A’s score?

A) 7

B) 9

C) 11

D) The player is disqualified.

 

The answers to the 2017 Rules quiz will be released on March 13.

For prior years quizzes and answers, click here.

 

Mobile devices CLICK HERE to open in PDF reader and see all pages