rolex logo

French - American Challenge* (MGA vs. Ligue de Paris) History

The MGA entered the “transatlantic” arena in 1990 with the founding of the French/American Challenge for Fred’s Cup. Named after its sponsor, the international jeweler Fred Joaillier, it pits teams of men and women representing the Met Area against the Ligue de Paris.

The first competition was held at Chantilly Golf Club outside Paris. Since then, it has alternated annually between France and the Met Area, having been played over some of the Met Area’s and Paris’ most outstanding courses. A spot on this prestigious team is one of the most sought after positions by Met Area competitors. 

Year Champion Site Results
2022 Met Area Team Quaker Ridge Recap
2018 Ligue de Paris Golf de Yvelines Recap
2016 Ligue de Paris Stanwich Recap
2014 Ligue de Paris Golf de Saint Cloud Recap
2012 Ligue de Paris Sebonack Recap
2010 Ligue de Paris Golf de Fontainebleau – France Recap
2008 Ligue de Paris Metropolis Recap
2006 Ligue de Paris Le Prieure – France  
2004 Tie Plainfield  
2002 Ligue de Paris Joyenval – France  
2000 Ligue de Paris Atlantic  
1998 Ligue de Paris St. Nom La Breteche – France  
1997 Ligue de Paris Mountain Ridge  
1996 Ligue de Paris Racing Club/La Boulie – France  
1995 Tie Creek  
1994 Ligue de Paris St. Cloud – France  
1993 Ligue de Paris Sleepy Hollow  
1992 Ligue de Paris St. Germain – France  
1991 MGA Baltusrol  
1990 Ligue de Paris Chantilly – France  
*Conducted as “Fred’s Cup” until 1997