rolex logo

MGA/MetLife Boys Championship History

The championship, open to boys not yet 16 years of age, was first played in 1969 at Westchester Country Club, and since 1987 the event has rotated around to three different sites: Gardiner’s Bay on Long Island, Bedford Golf & Tennis in Westchester County, and Rumson in New Jersey. 

There are three different qualifiers for the Boys Championship played across the Met Area, and the top 16 contestants are then seeded into a match play bracket. The format calls for 18-hole matches throughout the championship.  

Related: Boys Records 

Year Champion Site Results
2023 Ken Fernandes Gardiner's Bay Scores | Recap
2022 Arjun Caprihan Saint Andrew's Scores Recap
2021 Lance Hollingshead Gardiner's Bay Scores | Recap
2020 Reed Greyserman Glen Ridge Scores | Recap
2019 Reed Greyserman Bedford Scores | Recap
2018 Luke Sample Gardiner's Bay Scores | Recap
2017 Jud Langille Glen Ridge Scores | Recap
2016 Nathan Han Bedford Scores | Recap
2015 Nathan Han Gardiner's Bay Scores | Recap
2014 Brent Ito Rumson Scores | Recap
2013 Ryan Rodriguez Bedford Scores | Recap
2012 Willis Huynh Gardiners's Bay Scores | Recap
2011 Theo Humphrey Rumson Scores | Recap
2010 Matthew Lowe Bedford  
2009 Mark Reilly Gardiner’s Bay Scores
2008 Peter Kim Rumson Scores
2007 Jonathan Renza Bedford Scores
2006 Cameron Wilson Gardiner’s Bay  
2005 Gene Yang Rumson  
2004 Sunny Kim Bedford Scores
2003 Mark Costanza Gardiner’s Bay Scores
2002 Michael Quagliano Rumson  
2001 Larry Haertel Bedford  
2000 Johnny Schiano Gardiners Bay  
1999 John Browndorf Rumson  
1998 Jean Paul Longveil Bedford  
1997 Tyler Hall Gardiner’s Bay  
1996 Justin Van Hyning Rumson  
1995 Taylor Walsh Bedford  
1994 Joseph Horowitz Gardiner’s Bay  
1993 Gary Blados Rumson  
1992 Steve Oh Bedford  
1991 Frank Leo Gardiner's Bay  
1990 Mike Ragone Rumson  
1989 Rob Bradley Bedford  
1988 Gregory Bisconti Gardiner’s Bay  
1987 Mike Stamberger Rumson  
1986 Brian Soldon Garrison  
1985 Brian Soldon Gardiner’s Bay  
1984 Steven Spencer Rumson  
1983 Jerry Springer Connecticut  
1982 Jeff Putman St. George's  
1981 Don Edwards Essex Fells  
1980 Don Edwards Powelton  
1979 Gregg Vincent Waccabuc  
1978 John Marino Scarsdale  
1977 Dan Dinan Whippoorwill  
1976 Robert Mattiace Ardsley  
1975 Jon Saxton Bedford  
1974 David Azen Scarsdale  
1973 Richard Kerper Powelton  
1972 Doug Thomas Darien  
1971 Mark McAvoy Bedens Brook  
1970 Mike Occi Deepdale  
1969 Jeff Hadley Westchester