rolex logo

MGA Senior Amateur Championship History

OYSTER BAY, N.Y. - (October 7, 2020) - Ned Zachar of GlenArbor won the 93rd MGA Senior Amateur Championship at the Mill River Club, edging out first-round leader Roger Hoit of Baltusrol by one shot. Zachar won his first MGA title with rounds of 69-72 to finish at 3-under for the championship. Hoit finished with a 2-under total after rounds of 66-76. 

Zachar entered the final round three shots behind Hoit after opening with a 3-under 69. His first round included four birdies and just one bogey. "Yesterday I hit 18 greens. I had a couple of kick-ins and it was the simplest round ever. It could have been lower, but that's golf, sometimes you can't get all of the breaks going your way," said Zachar. 

Full Results Photos - Round Two

Meanwhile, Hoit had gotten off to a hot start to the event, carding 8 birdies for a 6-under 66 in his first round. During the final 18 holes, he got off to a great start, with three birdies and one bogey on the front. On the back nine, however, he struggled with a triple bogey on 11 followed by a double bogey on the par-3 12th. Zachar was able to keep it steady during his round, with no bogeys on the front and birdie on the par-3 7th. On Zachar's back nine, he had bogeys on 10 and 14, but followed that up with a birdie on the par-4 15th. 

"I three putted, didn’t get up and down for par after hitting three shots on 14, that was unfortunate because I did play the hole just exactly the way I wanted, but I said listen, this is not over," Zachar said. After the 14th, he was then only one shot back from the lead. "I hit a very good drive [on 15] in the middle of the fairway, then I hit a wedge to about three feet. I made the birdie, Roger made a 5, and that was a very big turning point because then I had a two shot lead with only a couple of holes to go. There's always one little important moment in the context of a round like that, and that was definitely one," he shared. 

Year Champion Site Results
2020 Ned Zachar Mill River Scores | Recap
2019 Jim Graham Montclair Scores | Recap
2018 Adam Kugler Old Oaks Scores | Recap
2017 Allan Small Fairmount Scores | Recap
2016 George Zahringer III Huntington Country Scores | Recap
2015 George Zahringer III Westchester CC (West) Scores | Recap
2014 Jay Blumenfeld Rockrimmon Scores | Recap
2013 Jon Tingley Navesink Scores | Recap
2012 Ron Vannelli Metedeconk National Scores | Recap
2011 John Ervasti Sleepy Hollow Scores | Recap
2010 Steve Rose North Shore  
2009 Al Small Preakness Hills Scores | Recap
2008 Ron Vannelli Wee Burn Scores | Recap
2007 Jay Blumenfeld Piping Rock Scores | Recap
2006 Shawn McLoughlin Mountain Ridge Scores
2005 Steve Rose Woodway Scores
2004 Douglas Vergith Glen Head Scores
2003 Steve Rose Arcola Scores
2002 Joe Polizzano Scarsdale  
2001 Shawn McLoughlin Inwood  
2000 Ned Steiner Crestmont  
1999 Bob Housen Brae Burn  
1998 Robert Navesky Wheatley Hills  
1997 Bob Housen Montclair  
1996 Richard Siderowf Arcola  
1995 William Sala Sunningdale  
1994 John French Spring Brook  
1993 Mario Posillico Cherry Valley  
1992 Jerry Courville Sr. Westchester Hills  
1991 Don Edwards Hackensack  
1990 Joe Davis North Shore  
1989 Mike Mattwell Elmwood  
1988 John Farrell Jr. Suburban  
1987 Mike Mattwell Huntington  
1986 Art Thomas Wee Burn  
1985 Michael LoBosco Glen Ridge  
1984 Mal Galletta Sr. Woodcrest  
1983 Mike Mattwell Dellwood  
1982 Joseph A. Donahue Ridgeway  
1981 Mike Mattwell North Hempstead  
1980 Norb Harrer Edgewood  
1979 Tony Macellaro Sunningdale  
1978 John Humm Rockville Links  
1977 John Rogers Old Oaks  
1976 Gerold Lauck Canoe Brook  
1975 John J. Humm North Hempstead  
1974 James F. Tingley Mount Kisco  
1973 Arthur Lefelar Mountain Ridge  
1972 Ed Majka Rockville Links  
1971 Seymour Holub Apawamis  
1970 William Y. Dear Jr. Knickerbocker  
1969 J. Wolcott Brown Glen Oaks  
1968 J. Wolcott Brown Leewood  
1967 J. Wolcott Brown Raritan Valley  
1966 Anthony J. Vileno Garden City CC  
1965 Olin Cerrochi Innis Arden  
1964 Stephen Berrien Knickerbocker  
1963 John N. Ledbetter Jr. Rockville Links  
1962 Jack Mullen Century  
1961 Martin M. Issler Arcola  
1960 Mike Cestone Sunningdale  
1959 Paul A. Dunkel Rockaway Hunting  
1958 Edward M. Smith Upper Montclair  
1957 Jack Dowling Mountain Ridge  
1956 Martin M. Issler Hudson River  
1955 Thomas Robbins Rockaway Hunting  
1954 Carl W. Timpson Ridgewood (N.J.)  
1953 Thomas Robbins Winged Foot  
1952 Vincent Fitzgerald Wheatley Hills  
1951 Jack Brittain Sr. Upper Montclair  
1950 Thomas Robbins Siwanoy  
1949 Thomas Robbins Seawane Harbor  
1948 Ellis Knowles Upper Montclair  
1947 Ellis Knowles Winged Foot  
1946 Samuel J. Graham Seawane Harbor  
1945 Charles McMillen Baltusrol  
1944 Samuel J. Graham Winged Foot  
1943 Samuel J. Graham Garden City GC  
1942 Charles P. Burgess Baltusrol  
1941 August F. Kammer Siwanoy  
1940 Charles H. Jennings Garden City GC  
1939 August F. Kammer Essex County  
1938 Wilfred Garretson Siwanoy  
1937 Bechtel Alcock Garden City GC  
1936 Dwight Rockwell Englewood  
1935 Rex Beach Saint Andrew's  
1934 Morton P. Downs Rockaway Hunting  
1933 Alex P. Gray Montclair  
1932 Enos S. Booth Sleepy Hollow  
1931 T. Henry Clarkson Garden City GC  
1930 Charles Cooke Arcola  
1929 Hugh Halsell Hudson River  
1928 Frank H. Hoyt Garden City GC