rolex logo

MGA Senior Net Four-Ball Championship History

While the MGA is proud of its top-level championships and the way they bring together the area's best players, the Senior Net Four-Ball is an example of how the association brings a competitive atmosphere to players whose Handicap Indexes fall closer to that of the average golfer. The Senior Net event began in 1993 as an individual competition, and drew players who either did not have a Handicap Index low enough to qualify for the Senior Amateur, or who were in the 50-54 age range and thus were not yet eligible for the Senior Amateur's 55-year age minimum.

Competitors in the Senior Net tournament are awarded prizes for being among the top four finishers in net score, and a prize is also awarded for the low gross score. In the event's history, there has never been a two-time winner of the low net category.

In 2006, the MGA converted the Senior Net into a two-man team event, and renamed it as the Senior Net Four-Ball. In contrast to the Men's Net Team Championship, the two players do not have to be members of the same golf club. This provides a unique opportunity for friends who may reside in different states or who rarely get the chance to play together to team up in an exciting one-day competition.

Over the years the Senior Net Four-Ball has visited such well-respected MGA member clubs as Montclair, Pelham, Burning Tree and Glen Ridge. The camaraderie and spirit of competition that is evident at the Senior Net Four-Ball has made it one of the season’s most popular events.

Year Champion Site
2023 Michael Pepa / Raymond Hubbs Hollow Brook
2022 Tim Macken / Mike Friedman Maplewood
2021 Ralph Lombari / Richard Koshar Ardsley
2020   Not played in 2020
2019 Graham Linn / Joe Eaton Lawrence Yacht
2018 Glenn Malone / John Egitto Knickerbocker
2017 Roger Tarika / Jon O'Herron Jr. Redding
2016 James Saporito / Wayne Mulato St. George's
2015 Joseph Delbuono / Michael Borghi Spring Brook
2014 Steve Massa / Keith Wilster Centennial
2013 Martin, Robert / Wolczok, John Willow Creek
2012 Alley Olson / Bill Hamburger New Jersey National
2011 Peter Rubeo Jr. /  Anthony Sarlo Rock Spring
2010 Ralph Wimbush / Dave Donelson Scarsdale
2009 Steven Dalane / Terry Fitzpatrick Salem
2008 Frank Hendricks / Tom Yates Lawrence Village
2007 Rick Baris / Bill Ludwig Packanack
2006* Daniel LoParco / Greg Horgan Aspetuck Valley
2005 John Stelluti Glen Ridge
2004 Andrew Foppiano Westchester Hills
2003 Louis Carducci Colonia
2002 Peter Rubeo Jr. Leewood
2001 Thomas Sheridan Burning Tree
2000 Joe Bruce Lawrence Village
1999 Larry Barrett Pelham
1998 Joe Sanders Rockville Links
1997 Martin Sekreta Montclair
1996 John Stewart Engineers
1995 Matt Juenger Hampshire
1994 Nelson Wolther Brooklake
1993 Alvin Ziegler Cedar Brook
*Format was changed to a team event.