rolex logo

MGA/MetLife Women’s Four-Ball Championship History

With the incredible success of the Men’s Net Team Championship, the decision was made in 1985 to start a women’s championship. Over the ensuing years the event has grown and prospered, and has recently visited courses such as Morris County, Greenwich and Saint Andrew’s. This competition is a two-woman team event.  Each player must have an active USGA Handicap Index that does not exceed (28.0) at the time the team attempts to qualify at the club level.  Players with handicaps that exceed this Handicap Index are not eligible to compete by agreeing to play with an index within the eligible limit.  The combined Handicap Index of the team may not exceed (48.0).

In 2014 the MGA rebranded the MGA/Met Life Women's Net Team into the MGA/Met Life Women's Four-Ball Championship, which is now conducted by the MGA Foundation.

In a typical year, hundreds of teams compete at the club level for the right to represent their club at one of three sectional qualifying rounds. From the qualifying, 40 teams emerge to compete in the championship proper. The format for the tournament is 18 holes of stroke play, net team better ball with players competing at 95 percent of their individual Course Handicap.  

Year Club Champions Site
2023 Bonnie Briar Country Club Jacqueline Celestino & Ellen Dunkin Navesink
2022 Trump National Golf Club Hudson Valley Veronica Vawter & Martha Johnson Harrison Meadows
2021 LPGA Amateur Golf Assoc. - LI Patrice Franco & Yong Park Muttontown
2020   Not Played in 2020  
2019 Montauk Downs Annabel Means & Carol Snyder Muttontown
2018 Glen Cove ** Susan Canarick & Janet Mazza Spring Brook
2017 Mountauk Downs Annabel Means & Carol Snyder Westchester CC (South)
2016 Smithtown Landing  Rita Timpanaro & Adele Dusenbury Huntington Crescent
2015 Glen Cove Women's 18 Holers** Susan Canarick & Janet Mazza Hampshire
2014 Glen Cove Women's 18 Holers** Susan Canarick & Janet Mazza Towers
2013 Redding Sharon Nightingale & Sharon Kennedy Twin Brooks
2012 Casperkill Cathy Moon / Bea Prokop Hampshire
2011 Port Jeff @ Harbor Hill Jadie Detolla / Linda Bucaria Hempstead
2010 Montauk Downs Robin Corwith / Hanneke Gold Glen Ridge
2009 Meroke GA Linda Sokol / Betty Wagner Pelham
2008 Branton Woods Tracy Morley / Mary Ropes Towers
2007 Redding Elaine Laux / Monica Riggs Green Brook
2006 Redding Elaine Laux / Monica Riggs Greenwich
2005 Oyster Bay Women Mary La Bella / Henrietta Dirks Cedar Brook
2004 McCann Cathy Patterson / Pamela Alley Morris County
2003 Mahopac Lisa Delzio / Terri Lyons Silver Spring
2002 Otterkill Janet Tu / Sumi Gork North Shore
2001 Glen Cove Women’s Dawn McKeown / Mary McMahon Morris County
2000 Mohansic Hills Anne Kyle / Teri Nucaro Canyon
1999 Glen Cove Women’s Dawn McKeown / Mary McMahon Towers
1998 Mill River (N.Y.) Madeline Rivardo / Jas Singh Morris County
1997* Yonker’s Amateur Paula Gullo / Ellen Rich Saint Andrew’s
1996 Bergen Point Grace Johnson / Merry Masi Seawane
1995 Bamm Hollow Debbie Hoermann / Peggy Ford Morris County
1994 High Mountain Anna Appel / Joyce Trabattoni New Canaan
1993 High Mountain Anna Appel / Joyce Trabattoni Huntington Crescent
1992 Swan Lake Chris Lovizio / Sally Robbins Shackamaxon
1991 Indian Hills P. Oglesby / E. Elkins Ardsley
1990 Innis Arden Helen Delago / Sally Malconian Towers
1989 Swan Lake C. Lovizio / C. Pellegrini Edgewood
1988 Twin Brooks Lorrie Garfinkel / Isabell Heller Westchester
1987 Swan Lake Chris Lovizio / Sally Robbins North Hempstead
1986 West. Hills Mary Acerbo / Mary Marino Shackamaxon
1985 Innis Arden Janet Peters / Nancy Allen Sunningdale

*Played as the MGA/Metlife Women’s Centennial Team Championship

**Won in a playoff