rolex logo

MGA/WMGA Women’s Met Amateur Championship History

The WMGA Women's Amateur was created in 2002 for competitive amateur women golfers in the Met Area. The inaugural event took place at High Mountain Golf Club in Franklin Lakes, N.J. Since then, the Women's Amateur has visited many beautiful sites, among them Atlantic Golf Club, Fenway Golf Club, The Creek, Stanwich, and Siwanoy Country Club. In 2012, a new partnership was formed between the WMGA and MGA to co-administer the event.

Some of the Met Area's top female amateurs compete in the WMGA/MGA Women's Amateur, and the list of past champions is filled with the top names such as Megan Grehan who now plays on the LPGA Tour, Laura Algiero of Whippoorwill, and Kansas State golfer Scotland Preston.

Year Champion Site
2023 Sofia Nogalo Hollow Brook
2022 Lianna Amoruso Mendham Golf and Tennis Club
2021 Paige Diecidue Southampton
2020   Not played in 2020
2019 Ina Kim Somerset Hills
2018 Ina Kim Saint Andrew's
2017 Alix Lowe Mountain Ridge
2016 Ina Kim Atlantic
2015 Laura Algiero Tuxedo
2014 Hana Ku Baltusrol
2013 Scotland Preston The Creek
2012 Laura Algiero Stanwich