rolex logo

2016 MGA Championship Season

ELMSFORD, N.Y. (November 18, 2015) – The MGA’s 2016 Championship schedule is now available to view online, with some of the Met Area’s best courses once again lined up to host the historic slate of championship events.


Related: 2016 MGA Championship Schedule

The MGA’s trio of major championships highlights the listing, featuring Essex County Country Club for the 61st Ike Championship, Country Club of Fairfield for the 114th Met Amateur and Glen Oaks Club for the 101st Met Open.

It will be the Ike Championship’s second visit to Essex County, New Jersey's oldest country club. The club, located in West Orange, last hosted a MGA championship with the Mid-Am in 2011 and last hosted an MGA major in 1987—also being the Ike. The Ike will take place June 27-28.

The Country Club of Fairfield, laid out over a picturesque property on the Long Island Sound, will host the MGA’s oldest championship, the Met Amateur, August 4-7. The Fairfield, Conn., club last hosted an MGA event in 2012 with the first playing of the MGA Senior Masters and is ready to provide a stern test for the area’s best amateurs.

The Met Open returns to Long Island for its 101st playing at Glen Oaks Club in Old Westbury, N.Y., August 23-25. This fall, the PGA TOUR announced it would add the club to the rotation for The Barclays, the first event of the FedExCup Playoffs which features the top 125 players in the FedExCup Standings. Glen Oaks underwent a renovation from 2011 to 2014, and then received the 2015 Club of the Year Award from the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association. It will be hosting its first MGA championship since the 1986 MGA/MetLife Men’s Four-Ball.

Additionally, the 14th Carter Cup, the MGA’s junior stroke play championship, will visit Winged Foot Golf Club in 2016, as usual host Baltusrol hosts the PGA Championship, July 25-31. The one-day, 36-hole event is slated for August 3. Winged Foot also hosted the tournament in 2005—the last time Baltusrol hosted the PGA Championship—when now PGA TOUR player Morgan Hoffmann claimed the title.