rolex logo

MGA Awards

The Metropolitan Golf Association Distinguished Service Award has been presented annually since 1973, and is given to a person who has contributed “...distinguished service to golf and its related activities, consistent with the valued standards and honorable traditions of the game.” The award provides an opportunity for the MGA to recognize the golf community’s most dedicated volunteers.
Past Winners of the MGA Distinguished Service Award


The Jerry Courville Sr. MGA Player of the Year Award is presented annually to the Met Area amateur who has compiled the best record in select events during the course of the year. First awarded in 1976 to Richard Siderowf, the Player of the Award has been won by the likes of George Zahringer, John Baldwin, Jeff Thomas and Jerry Courville Jr. Players earn points for their high finishes in designated local, national and international championships. The award recipient is confirmed by the MGA Executive Committee.
Winners of the MGA Jerry Courville Sr. Player of the Year Award


The MGA Women's Player of the Year Award was created in 2023. The award, established with support from the Women's Metropolitan Golf Association, aims to honor the female amateur from the Met Area that compiles an outstanding performance record during the season. A season-long points race that includes local, regional, and national events will help determine the recipient, who must be a member of an MGA member club. The award will be presented at the MGA’s Annual Meeting and Dinner in December.
Winners of the MGA Women's Player of the Year Award


The MGA Junior Player of the Year Award, Presented by Callaway was introduced in 2017 to recognize excellence among the junior competitors in the Met Area. With Callaway’s support, the Junior Player of the Year award honors a player age 18 or younger who has performed the best in a given golf season, with an emphasis on the MGA’s two premier junior events – the Met Junior Championship Sponsored by MetLife and the Carter Cup. Similar to the MGA Jerry Courville Sr. Player of the Year Award, a season-long points race determines the Junior Player of the Year, with the season concluding by September 15 each year.
Winners of the MGA Junior Player of the Year Award