rolex logo

MGA/WMGA Women’s Public Links Championship History

Stacie Ballou Wins Women's Pub Links | Metropolitan Golf AssociationThe growth of women’s golf in the 1990s spurred the creation in 1998 of the Women’s Public Links Championship, jointly run by the MGA and the Women’s Metropolitan Golf Association. The Red Course at Bethpage State Park has been a frequent host of the Women’s Public Links, and the championship has also visited such highly regarded venues as New Jersey National, Sterling Farms and Hudson Hills.  

Joan Placek, Jeannine Mondesando, Daria Cummings and Allison Oakes have each won the event twice. The WMGA/MGA Women’s Public Links is open to all female golfers who reside in the WMGA/MGA district, have a Handicap Index of 20.0 or lower and do not hold playing privileges at a course from which the general public is excluded. The championship is conducted over 18 holes of stroke play.


Year Champion Site
2024 Grace Lu Bethpage Yellow
2023 MerriLyn Gibbs Sterling Farms
2022 Ava Lozito Hominy Hill
2021 Stacie MacCourtney Rock Spring 
2020   Not played in 2020
2019 Peyton Greco Glen Cove
2018 Nabila Inak Bethpage (Green)
2017 Amber Pennington Hudson Hills
2016 Alexandra Sazhin River Vale
2015 Brooke Nethercott Spook Rock
2014 Hana Ku Bethpage (Red)
2013 Alexandra Hershberger Hudson Hills
2012 Kelsi Kavanagh Flanders Valley
2011 Victoria House Bethpage (Red)
2010 Nicole Morales Hudson Hills
2009 Allison Oakes Patriot Hills
2008 Daria Cummings Bethpage (Red)
2007 Allison Oakes Great Gorge
2006 Daria Cummings Bethpage (Red)
2005 Karen Bouloucon Hudson Hills
2004 Laura Woolgar Crystal Springs
2003 Tina Samara Bethpage (Red)
2002 Jeannine Mondesando Sterling Farms
2001 Joan Placek New York
2000 Jeannine Mondesando Bethpage (Red)
1999 Joan Placek Bethpage (Red)
1998 Barbara Casey New Jersey National