rolex logo
Darin Goldstein swinging a golf club

MGA Jerry Courville Sr. Player of the Year Award

The MGA’s Player of the Year Award was established in 1976 with the intent to honor the Met Area competitor who compiled the best record in local, national and even international events in one season. Behind his second career win at the British Amateur, Dick Siderowf became the first recipient of the award, and in the years following, recipients have included not only the Met Area’s greatest competitors but some of the most renowned amateur players in the United States.

In 1997, the MGA Executive Committee voted unanimously to re-name the Player of the Year Award in honor of Jerry Courville Sr., one of the Met Area’s most accomplished and beloved golfers. Beyond his incredible talent on the course, Courville Sr. set the highest standards of sportsmanship and fair play. It is those traits as well that should serve as a model for all golfers and especially should be embodied by any player worthy of being considered the MGA Player of the Year.


2019 MGA POY Point Standings2018 Honor RoleGuidelinesPoints System



                                   Jerry Courville Sr. MGA Player of the Year Award Winners

                                      Year                                                                       Winner(s)

                                      2018                                                                      Darin Goldstein

                                      2017                                                                      James Nicholas

                                      2016                                                                      Stewart Hagestad

                                      2015                                                                      Cameron Young

                                      2014                                                                      David Pastore

                                      2013                                                                      Max Buckley

                                      2012                                                                      Michael Miller

                                      2011                                                                      Michael Miller

                                      2010                                                                      Joseph Saladino

                                      2009                                                                      Cameron Wilson

                                      2008                                                                      Joseph Saladino

                                      2007                                                                      George Zahringer III

                                      2006                                                                      Andrew Giuliani

                                      2005                                                                      Ronald Vannelli

                                      2004                                                                      Peter Meurer

                                      2003                                                                      Andrew Svoboda & Jerry Courville Jr

                                      2002                                                                      Jerry Courville Jr.

                                      2001                                                                      George Zahringer III

                                      2000                                                                      Jerry Courville Jr.

                                     1999                                                                      Jerry Courville Jr.

                                     1998                                                                      Greg Rohlf

                                     1997                                                                      Jerry Courville Jr.

                                     1996                                                                      Jeff Thomas

                                     1995                                                                      Jerry Courville Jr.

                                     1994                                                                      Jeff Thomas

                                     1993                                                                      Jeff Thomas

                                     1992                                                                      George Zahringer III

                                     1991                                                                      John Baldwin

                                     1990                                                                      John Baldwin

                                     1989                                                                      George Zahringer III

                                     1988                                                                      Ralph Howe III

                                     1987                                                                      George Zahringer III

                                     1986                                                                      George Zahringer III

                                     1985                                                                      Mark Trauner

                                     1984                                                                      Jonas Saxton & George Zahringer III

                                     1983                                                                      Jonas Saxton

                                     1982                                                                      George Zahringer III

                                     1981                                                                      H.P. Van Ingen Jr.

                                     1980                                                                      George Zahringer III

                                     1979                                                                      George Zahringer III

                                     1978                                                                      Jimmy F. Dee

                                     1977                                                                      Jimmy F. Dee

                                     1976                                                                      Richard Siderowf