rolex logo

MGA/MetLife Men’s Four-Ball Championship History

The MGA/MetLife Men’s Net Team Championship was created in 1977 to give the average golfer a high-caliber tournament experience. Because of that mission, the “Met Net,” as it is commonly referred to, has become extraordinarily popular, routinely drawing more than 2,000 teams who attempt to qualify at the club level. In 2014 the MGA rebranded the MGA/Met Life Men's Net Team into the MGA/Met Life Men's Four-Ball Championship, and is now conducted by the MGA Foundation.

While the Met Net appeals to the average golfer, the manner in which the tournament is conducted is anything but average. Every phase of the championship is organized at a level comparable to other major MGA Championships, including on-site MGA officials, a formal scoreboard, an awards luncheon, quality awards and mementos, and press and website coverage. Also well above average are the championship sites, which over the years have included Quaker Ridge, Canoe Brook, Westchester, Plainfield, Metropolis, and Sleepy Hollow, to name a few.

The Men's Four-Ball is open to two-man teams representing an MGA member club. Each team member must have a USGA Handicap Index below 20.0 and the team total cannot exceed 36.0.

Year Club Champions Site
2023 Lake Success Golf Club Rex Whitehorn/Jonas Young-Borra Deal
2022 Esquire Men's Golf Club Steven Schwab/Andrew Fishman Summit Club
2021 Ash Brook Golf Course Paul Erber/Richard Kavanagh Spring Brook
2020     Not played in 2020
2019 Ash Brook Golf Course Paul Erber / Richard Kavanagh Huntington
2018 Village Club of Lake Success Alex Ma / Jason Borak Sylvan Morris County
2017 Maplewood Michael Davidson & Mark Anania Westchester CC (West)
2016 Thistle Joseph Eaton / Graham Ian Linn Salem
2015 Haworth Raymond Garthe / Larry Shapiro Whippoorwill
2014 Centennial Joe Mercurio / Marc David Swanson Fairmount
2013 Smithtown Landing Franco Russo / Joe Russo Engineers
2012 Blue Eagle Bill ioLonardi / John Schneider Aspetuck Valley
2011 Apple Ridge Richie Klein / David Mindich Maplewood
2010 Olde Vine Carl Giovernale Jr. / Phil Marino White Beeches
2009 Branton Woods Kevin Liberati / Frank Petrocelli Hempstead
2008 Mohansic Peter Rubeo / Richard Abramo Mount Kisco
2007 Port Jefferson Tom Taylor / Lou Malaussena Spring Brook
2006 Broadacres Neil Carcaterra / Steven O’Brien Patriot Hills
2005 Upper Montclair Michael Maroon / James Trainor New York
2004 Montclair Donald Kane / Frank Ferrari Plandome
2003 Sky View Anthony Cassetta / Michael Fitton Rock Spring
2002 Sunken Meadow Marty Doris / Stanley Meyerson Ardsley
2001 Huntington Crescent Robert Chrenc / Arthur Roche Brooklake
2000 Spring Lake (N.Y.) Bob Davis / Rich Simone Metuchen
1999 Flamingo Gaze Bill Hosttetter / David Means Roxiticus
1998 Spring Lake (N.Y.) Bob Davis / Greg Hendrickson Huntington Crescent
1997* Stony Ford Reginald Dennis / Mike Renna Wee Burn
1996 Mohansic Peter Rubeo / John Stelluti Suburban
1995 Mohansic Peter Rubeo / John Stelluti Engineers
1994 Mohansic Peter Rubeo / John Stelluti Siwanoy
1993 Silver Lake Nils Lambert / Vic Stora Forest Hill
1992 Wheatley Hills B. Wiggington / F. Osanitch Hempstead
1991 Innisfail Jim Scully / Matthew Slattery Sleepy Hollow
1990 Loch Ledge P. Douglas / R. Mauriello Alpine
1989 Mahopac Tom Lotrecchiano / Al Lotrecchiano North Hills
1988 Rockland Valley F. Ruggiero / S. Rosenzweig Sunningdale
1987 Middle Bay Philip Glantz / Leonard Wilner Canoe Brook
1986 Leewood V. Mancuso / G. Stanzione Glen Oaks
1985 Burning Tree Jacques Isaacs / Carl Palermo Sleepy Hollow
1984 Baltusrol Steve Boyd / Bob Boyd Metropolis
1983 Huntington Crescent Arthur Roche / Joe Cameron Plainfield
1982 Clearview George Latham / Wally Fuchs Quaker Ridge
1981 Knickerbocker Dennis Visich / F. DeMartini Jr. Century
1980 Haworth Harvey Jaffe / Marc Meltzer Westchester
1979 Winged Foot Win Stevens / Phil Hartnett Westchester
1978 Stony Ford Bob Seman / Steve Smith Westchester
1977 Bonnie Briar Jim Livingston / Al Rutel Westchester
* played as the MGA/MetLife Centennial Team Championship