rolex logo

MGA Mid-Amateur Championship History

The MGA Mid-Amateur Championship was the first new event created by the MGA since the Carter Cup - MGA Junior Stroke Play Championship in 2003. It was played for the first time in 2007 at Hudson National Golf Club, site of the 2001 Met Amateur, the 2004 Met Open and the 1996 Hugh L. Carey Challenge Cup Matches.

RELATED: MGA Mid-Amateur Records

The championship brings together a field of the best 30-and-over golfers* the Met Area has to offer. The two-day stroke-play event is an invitational and players gain entry based on high finishes in selected MGA and Met Area events. The winner is awarded the Westmoreland Cup, named for long-time MGA Tournament Director Gene Westmoreland.
*In 2017 the eligibility changed from age 35 to 30.

Year Champion Runner(s)-up Site Results
2023 Mark Costanza* Badford Tilley Fairfield Scores | Recap
2022 Pat Wilson Trevor Randolph, Mark Costanza Tuxedo Club Scores | Recap
2021 Chris DeJohn Ken Bakst Friar's Head Scores | Recap
2020 Tom Timby Brad Tilley, Matthew Finger Somerset Hills Scores | Recap
2019 Brad Tilley Chester Patterson, Jonathan Jeter Wee Burn Scores | Recap
2018 Darren McCormack* Ryan Hom, Darin Goldstein Maidstone Scores | Recap
2017 Darin Goldstein Brad Tilley Bayonne Scores | Recap
2016 Trevor Randolph Brian Komline Tamarack Scores | Recap
2015 Trevor Randolph Mike Stamberger Nassau Scores | Recap
2014 Niall Handley Brian Komline Mountain Ridge Scores | Recap
2013 Michael Karger Trevor Randolph Anglebrook Scores | Recap
2012 Mark Henderson Hans Albertsson Meadow Brook Scores | Recap
2011 Niall Handley Gregg Angelillo Essex County Scores | Recap
2010 Dennis Lynch Hans Albertsson GlenArbor Scores | Recap
2009 Dennis Lynch Ron Vannelli, Ken Bakst, John Ervasti, Niall Handley Creek Scores | Recap
2008 Greg Rohlf John Ervasti, Alan Specht, Mike Stamberger Bayonne Scores
2007 Mike Reardon Greg Rohlf Hudson National Scores

*determined by a playoff