rolex logo

MGA Senior Open Championship History

Though it is young as far as MGA championships go, the Senior Open has a high profile among the top players in the Met Area. The complexion of the championship changed dramatically in 2003 with the influx of several very accomplished fifty-year-olds, headed by Darrell Kestner of Deepdale, a three-time Met Open champion, who won in his very first year of eligibility in 2003 and again in 2005. Other recent champions of note include Russell Helwig of Essex Fells (1998-‘99), Peter Famiano of Crestmont (2002), former PGA Tour winner Bill Britton of Twin Brooks Golf Center (2006), two-time Met Open champs Bruce Zabriski (2007) and Bobby Heins (2008-‘09). John Ervasti became the first amateur to win the championship in 2010.     

RELATED: Senior Open Records

The Senior Open has been held at such storied venues as Tuxedo, Century, Fenway, Fresh Meadow and Nassau, and features a purse of $25,000. The 36-hole event is contested at stroke play over two consecutive days.  

Year Champion Site Results
2023 Mark Mielke Plainfield  Scores | Recap
2022 Frank Esposito Jr Patterson Club Scores | Recap
2021 Dave Schuster Old Westbury Scores | Recap
2020 Frank A. Esposito Jr Essex County Scores | Recap
2019 Shaun Powers Metropolis Scores | Recap
2018 Mark Mielke Glen Head Scores | Recap
2017 Bill Britton Forsgate (Banks) Scores | Recap
2016 Jim McGovern* Brooklawn Scores | Recap
2015 Mark Mielke Engineers Scores | Recap
2014 Adam Kugler (a) Alpine Scores | Recap
2013 Craig Thomas Sunningdale Scores | Recap
2012 Peter Busch Garden City CC Scores | Recap
2011 Mike Burke Crestmont Scores | Recap
2010 John Ervasti (a) Rolling Hills  
2009 Bobby Heins Woodmere Scores
2008 Bobby Heins Hollywood Scores
2007 Bruce Zabriski Metropolis Scores
2006 Bill Britton Nassau Scores
2005 Darrell Kestner Tuxedo Scores
2004 Ed Whitman Century Scores
2003 Darrell Kestner Preakness Hills Scores
2002 Peter Famiano Woodmere  
2001 Carl Pedersen Royce Brook  
2000 Jim Miller Fenway  
1999 Russell Helwig Fresh Meadow  
1998 Russell Helwig Preakness Hills  
1997 John Gentile Tuxedo  
  (a) – Denotes amateur  

*won in playoff